Navigation Menu+

Elspeth Sandys

Elspeth Sandys

Novelist and playwright, Elspeth Sandys, has published eight novels, two collections of short stories, and written numerous plays for BBC Radio and Radio New Zealand, as well as working on film and television scripts. Her novel, River Lines, was long listed for the Orange Prize, and her play, Rogues and Vagabonds was selected for the 20th London International Playwriting Festival and shortlisted at the Columbus State Theatre Playwriting Competition. In 2003 her short story collection, Standing in Line, was awarded the Elena Garro (PEN International) Prize in Mexico. In 2012 The Cave of Winds won Best Spoken Feature in the NZ Media Awards. Elspeth has held several Writer in Residency Awards in New Zealand, Australia and the UK. She received the ONZM for services to literature in 2006. Her memoir, What Lies Beneath, was published in 2014.

Toggle This
  • Going West Books & Writers Festival

    The literary festival dedicated to celebrating New Zealand / Aotearoa authors, their writing and their worlds.
  • Stay in touch

    Subscribe to our periodic email newsletter for our latest news & updates.

  • Contact Us

    PO Box 60413 Titirangi
    Auckland 0642



    Website developed by WhySquare Ltd
    Report a bug

  • Follow Us